New Video: The MLA and the Boycott of Israeli Academic Institutions

The MLA and the Boycott of Israeli Academic Institutions

Check out the new MLA Members for Justice in Palestine video.

The MLA and the Boycott of Israeli Academic Institutions

The short documentary (7.5 minutes) makes the case for MLA members to vote in 2017 in support of a resolution to endorse the boycott of Israeli academic institutions. Scholars call on the MLA to make a commitment to Palestinian rights to education and academic freedom. They emphasize the dire conditions of Palestinians living under Israeli rule.

The video includes interviews with numerous prominent literary scholars who support the boycott resolution. Gayatri Spivak, W.J.T.Mitchell, Bruce Robbins, Margaret Ferguson, Rosaura Sanchez, David Lloyd, Malini Schueller,  David Palumbo Liu, Jeffery Sacks, Koritha Mitchell, Kenneth Surin and Kamran Rastegar are among the scholars interviewed. The interviews were conducted at the 2016 MLA Convention in Austin, Texas.

The video ends with reminder that you must renew your MLA membership by January 7, 2017 to be eligible to vote on resolutions passed by the Delegate Assembly in 2017.  Support Palestinian rights to education!